10 Steps to Finding a Reliable Roofing Inspection Contractor

10 Steps to Finding a Reliable Roofing Inspection Contractor

There are a lot of roofing contractors out there: some better than others, and some you’ll want to steer clear of altogether. How do you distinguish reputable contractor from the fly-by-night scammer rolling through town? How do you choose the best contractor for your project, and where do you begin? How do you protect yourself and your property from being taken advantage of, less than quality work, or getting ripped off?

Those are some of the questions you may have when starting your search for a contractor – and we are here to provide you with guidance, reassurance, and a list of practical steps you can take to protect your investment.

Before we dive into details, we want to stress the importance of research. Unless you have a leak and need emergency repairs, take your time in hiring a roofing contractor. A little homework now means better results later – and a quality job at a better value for homeowners.

10 Steps to Finding a Reliable Roofing Inspection Contractor

If you’re experiencing problems with your roof, a professional roofing inspection is the obvious first step toward fixing them. When you need a roofing inspection contractor, consider the following steps to finding a quality roofer:

  1. Ask your friends and neighbors, who may recently have had work done on their homes, for referrals.
  2. Check with the Better Business Bureau, and your local chamber of commerce.
  3. Once you’ve identified a few possible roofing contractors, ask for local references. And, follow up with these past customers, asking about their experiences with the contractor.
  4. Make sure the roofer is licensed, bonded, and insured for your area. The roofer should be able to show you copies of these documents.
  5. Check for warranties and guarantees on both materials and workmanship.
  6. It’s best to work with a local, established company with a permanent local address. After severe and/or widespread storms, it’s not unusual to find out-of-state roofers combing a neighborhood looking for work. Proceed with caution.
  7. Get a detailed, written roofing estimate, making sure that the specifications of each bid are identical. The estimate should cover the cost of the entire project, permits, timing, materials, cleanup, and warranties.
  8. Confirm that the contractor is experienced with the type of roofing material being used on your home.
  9. Confirm that the contractor is registered with the manufacturer of the roofing material they will install.
  10. When the job is complete, get a lien waiver. This confirms that the contractor has paid the manufacturer for the materials used on your project.

Remember that your roofing contractor should be your ally, acting as a consultant with your best interests in mind. Don’t be afraid to ask questions – a good contractor will want to help you understand and will be willing to address your concerns. By doing some homework up front, you’ll help to ensure a successful experience for everyone involved in the project.

Need a Reputable Roofing Inspection Contractor?

If you’d like to schedule a roofing inspection to diagnose specific problems or evaluate the overall condition of your roof, contact All Roofing Solutions. We are a family-owned & operated Delaware & Pennsylvania roofing contractor with over 15 years of local experience in residential & commercial roofing. Our mission is to provide top-notch workmanship and the best customer service experience to our customers.

Here are some facts about our company:

  • 15+ Years of Roofing Experience
  • Full Service, Residential and Commercial Roofer
  • Fully Licensed & Insured Contractor
  • Valid Workers Compensation Policy
  • 30 Year Workmanship Guarantee on Full Roof Replacements
  • General Liability Insurance
  • Lien Waver to Protect the Homeowners From Material Liens
  • Better Business Bureau Member
  • Complimentary Extended Material Warranty
  • 24 HR Emergency Service to Current Customers
  • On Site Quality Control
  • Factory Certified Installers

Join the ranks of our happy clients today!

Call 302-725-ROOF (7663) in DE or 610-551-ROOF (7663) in PA to schedule your inspection or for free estimate!

18 Comments

  1. Posted September 21, 2013 at 9:03 am | Permalink

    I like how you give this info as detailed as you can. Another tip, Make sure your contractor is local. An established company with a good reputation in the community speaks volumes.

  2. Posted January 28, 2016 at 4:50 pm | Permalink

    References and reviews are almost always the best way to find a good company, as stated in tips 1, 2, and 3. Everyone wants to find a good company for a good price. The best way to find that, is again, references and reviews.

  3. Anna Menzel
    Posted January 29, 2016 at 2:13 am | Permalink

    Beginning your search for a roofing company by starting out with referrals is a great way to go. Since you know about your friends quality standards and usually price ranges it will really help you to narrow down the possible companies with which you’d want to work. After doing that I would suggest to go with a company that charges moderate rates. You definitely don’t want to be paying for the lowest quality roofing materials after all.

  4. Posted January 29, 2016 at 6:07 pm | Permalink

    I didn’t even think to ask my friends, but I put up a facebook post about it and tons of people knew great companies.

  5. Posted January 30, 2016 at 1:53 pm | Permalink

    I really like your first tip to ask friends and families for referrals. Not only does this benefit your friend that is referring you, but you already have an idea of the quality and price of the work that the roofing contractor has. Word of mouth is a great way to save time as well, as you no longer have to research to find a contractor.

  6. Posted February 2, 2016 at 9:52 pm | Permalink

    Great tips! People should be warned and look out for people without permanent addresses nearby. That’s usually not a good sign. Seeing if you can look at examples of their work or if they have a good reputation by word of mouth can help you find a better roofer.

  7. Posted February 3, 2016 at 7:33 pm | Permalink

    There are several roofers in my area, so it’s really tough to narrow down to a few contractors to choose from. It seems really helpful to ask for referrals from my neighbors. I have a couple of neighbors who have recently installed new roofs. I should ask them about the roofers they hired.

  8. Posted February 4, 2016 at 6:48 am | Permalink

    Some good tips here! One of the most important points is to get a written estimate, as if it is not in black and white it can leave you open to additional costs with add-ons. Good post.

  9. Posted February 8, 2016 at 2:06 pm | Permalink

    Tip number four is a good one to listen too. If they can’t provide the documents, try another company. You don’t want to loose out on money if something goes wrong.

  10. Posted February 18, 2016 at 7:05 am | Permalink

    Great advice. We love getting testimonials from our customers as we find that it helps instill confidence in a someone thinking of using us. Word of mouth is great too. Cheers, Louise

  11. Posted February 20, 2016 at 7:50 pm | Permalink

    I absolutely agree that it is important to ask for references and to be able to talk to people who have hired the contractor in the past, as the article suggests. A good roofing contractor should be happy to provide you with references so that you can feel confident in the work that they do, by seeing what they have done. If a contractor is hesitant or unwilling to do this, then this may suggest that you should look elsewhere for the work that you need done.

  12. Posted March 2, 2016 at 7:45 pm | Permalink

    I am impressed with how thorough these tips are. I would think these would help you find a reliable contractor for two reasons. First, it seems that this would help you find exactly what you are looking for in your roofing project. Second, it seems like these questions would deter a questionable contractor from doing business with you.

  13. Posted March 5, 2016 at 11:22 am | Permalink

    My wife and I are moving into a new house, and we want to get the roof inspected. It looks fine, but I’m not sure I am trained well enough to know if there was a problem. I like what you said about asking neighbors for referrals, so you can find someone trustworthy, who knows what they are doing.

  14. Posted March 14, 2016 at 10:53 pm | Permalink

    I feel like tip number 8 is obviously a huge factor. Once I begin building my new home, and I hire a roofing contractor, I am defiantly going to want to make sure they are experienced and know exactly what they are talking about. This tip, and all the other once were a major help to me. Thank you!

  15. Posted March 25, 2016 at 10:05 pm | Permalink

    I think one of the best tips is to find someone licensed. Even if you don’t know anything else about a contractor, that’s still some guarantee of quality. For something as big as a roof, you want to take the time to find the best. It will save you lots of money in the long run.

  16. Posted April 23, 2016 at 7:59 pm | Permalink

    I agree totally with your list on how to find a great roofer. I especially like number four in your list. I always make sure the roofer I hire is certified and licensed to work on my roof. You also give me a few other great ideas for next time I need my roof replaced.

  17. Posted April 25, 2016 at 2:37 pm | Permalink

    I like your tip to get detailed, written estimates from several companies. Like you said, the estimates should have identical parameters so they’re able to be accurately repaired. Once you have multiple estimates, you can accurately compare cost and quality over several different roofing companies to find the one you want. Thanks for the tips!

  18. Posted June 13, 2016 at 10:59 pm | Permalink

    My house is old and needs to get a new roof. Thanks for the advice about getting a roofer that has warranties and guarantees its materials. Hopefully, I can get my roof repaired before it starts leaking.

  • Call All Roofing Solutions for a Free Estimate
  • Featured Project

    Roof Replacement, Middletown, DE 19709
    Roof Replacement, Middletown, DE 19709

  • All Roofing Solutions - Roofing Coupons & Specials
  • What Our Clients Say

    "Your crew was fast, reliable and thorough. We now have a beautiful slate roof and couldn't be happier. Thank you!"

    Paulina M., Wilmington, DE

    "The attention to detail and quality work is what sets you apart. We will definitely recommend you as a reliable roofer."

    Mitch B., Newark, DE

    "Hands down the most reliable and friendly roofing company in Wilmington area. Kudos for job well done!"

    Julie C., Chester, PA



  • All Roofing Solutions uses only top notch materials! All Roofing Solutions, LLC BBB Business Review